Stakeholders and Organisation



There is a formal Steering Board with representatives appointed by each university, a smaller Management Group taking care of day-to-day business, a Faculty Group dealing with the scientific questions, and an external Advisory Group with national and foreign representatives from industry as well as academia. A community coordinator is leading each community and reports to the Director and the Management Group. The Management Group, led by the Director, consists of people from the Steering board and Community Groups where the members may vary depending on assignments. The Faculty Group is advising the Management Group and implementing the e-Science work into the communities, including the collaborations between core and applied e-Science. In addition there is a Community Group which consists of all community coordinators and takes care of communication, administration and reporting, it is led by the SeRC coordinator.

Below follow the lists of people that are members of the different groups.

The Steering Board

Morten Dæhlen (Chairman, University of Oslo)
Anders Ynnerman (Vice-chairman, LiU)
Juni Palmgren (KI, SU)
Gunilla Svensson (SU)
Jan Gulliksen (KTH)
Niklas Blomberg (ELIXIR)
Björn Engquist (KTH)
Mattias Sillén (SAAB)


Dan Henningson (Director, KTH)
Erik Lindahl (Co-Director, KTH)
Olivia Eriksson (SeRC Coordinator, KTH)
as adjunct members.

The Community Group

Dan Henningson (Director)
Olivia Eriksson (SeRC Coordinator)
Lars Arvestad (Bioinformatics Coordinator)
Rodrigo Caballero (Climate Modeling Coordinator)
Jeanette Hellgren Kotaleski (Brain-IT Coordinator)
Jim Dowling (Parallel Software and Data Engineering Coordinator)
Lars Bergqvist (Electronic Structure Coordinator)
Philipp Schlatter (FLOW Coordinator)
Berk Hess (Molecular Simulation Coordinator)
Olof Runborg (Numerical Analysis Coordinator)
Ingrid Hotz, Tino Ebbers (Visualization Coordinator, Medical Visualization Subcommunity Coordinator)
Mark Clements (eCPC Coordinator)

The Advisory Group

Niklas Blomberg (ELIXIR)
Björn Engquist (KTH)
Wilco Hazeleger (Netherlands eScience Center)
David Jones (University College London)
Claes Lundström (Sectra)
Rob Pennington (NCSA, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Mattias Sillén (SAAB Group)
Nicola Spaldin (ETH Zürich)

Equality and Diversity

All SeRC universities have established equality and diversity plans SeRC is following, particularly when hiring, where we e.g. use the new tenure track programs at KTH and LiU. Equality is an important aspect in the composition of the management bodies and SeRC has achieved a reasonable gender balance (26% women in leadership positions), although SeRC suffers from the significant general skew in engineering fields. SeRC researchers and SeRC Faculty are a diverse mix of researchers originating from many countries and several continents.